Iveco Wins Dakar Rally 2023

The most anticipated adventure of the year, the 45th edition of the Dakar Rally Race and the toughest since the competition arrived in Saudi Arabia, has come to a close with a success for IVECO’s new teams.

The drivers passed this test of extreme endurance with flying colours, having driven over 8,500 km on perilous terrains and across vast expanses of sandy dunes. On his fourth Dakar rally, Janus van Kasteren jr capitalized on his experience to deliver a consistent performance, collecting several podium placements and the first place in the final standings.

He was followed by veteran driver and a legend of the Dakar, Martin van den Brink, who finished third. His son and teammate Mitchel van den Brink drove an impressive race, collecting several second places and becoming the youngest special winner with his first place in stage 6, and closing the competition with a fourth placement.

The two teams got to a flying start in the prologue, securing excellent places on the starting grid for Stage 1 with their IVECO Powerstar trucks powered by Cursor 13 engines specially engineered by FPT Industrial. Unfortunately, Vick Versteijnen had to retire on Day 4 of the competition. The three other crews continued to battle the heat and rain of the desert to achieve podium placements in every stage of the rally race.